A few months ago I had the pleasure of visiting Villa del Palmar at the Islands of Loreto, a small resort located just above Cabo on the gulf of Baja California.  This was my first trip to Mexico and I had no idea what to expect. I decided I was going in with an open mind and going to roll with whatever comes my way!  My goal was to experience everything Mexico had to offer from trying new foods to snorkeling with 10ft eels, I was going to do it all.
Loreto - Locations-14This was the view from our hotel room.  I don’t think anyone would mind waking up to this every morning.

Day 1.

After arriving at the resort around 3pm we were greeted with an amazing lunch. Fresh salsa, guacamole, and some of the best ceviche I’ve ever had.  From that moment on I knew it was going to be a good trip.  I do have to say, day 1 consisted of mostly eating which I’m definitely not complaining about.G0010236.JPGWe relaxed in our room till the sun went down. Then it was time for dinner.Loreto - Locations-8.jpgAfter dinner we took a quick dip in the pool and called it an early night.

Day 2.

We really wanted to fit in as many activities as we could while we were on this trip so there wasn’t a lot of down time in our itinerary. 11875532_1627528664179009_1785477634_n
Day two was jammed packed we started the day off with this amazing breakfast.
Loreto - George-13After breakfast we took a tour of the property to see all the resort had to offer.
After the tour I had a massage appointment at the spa.Loreto - Locations-13My spa day was unfortunately cut short because we had scheduled a trip to see the city of Loreto.  I could have stayed in the spa all day long.Loreto - George-19Loreto - George-15Loreto - George-20The city of Loreto was very interesting.  We had some of the best jalapeno margaritas I’ve ever had and ate chocolate clams at a local restaurant.  I even took a leap and ordered some pizza which was surprisingly very good.  There was just something about the cheese in Mexico.  It had this freshness I am definitely not used to.

Day 3.

Loreto - Locations-51Another beautiful morning in Loreto.  Our last day was definitely our most intense.Loreto - George-23.jpgWe started the morning off with a hike on the local hiking trails. (I would recommend going early as it gets pretty hot once the sun pokes over the mountains)Loreto - George-29.jpgAfter the hike we met up with Ivan, the in house healer at the resort, for a morning sun salutation ritual.Loreto - George-30After the ritual we had a quick breakfast then it was off on a boat trip to go snorkeling.  This was one of my favorite activities on the trip.  I have snorkeled before but I have never seen this many different species of fish in one spot.  I would make this trip again for this experience alone.Loreto - George-32After a full day at sea we had a few minutes to grab a beer and just enjoy the view before heading to a tequila tasting._MG_7246.JPG

 

I will be putting together a video on Gent’s Lounge of my experience in the next few days so stay tuned!  In the meantime, The Villa del Palmar Islands of Loreto is offering a discounted rate of $119 USD per night in a Deluxe Studio suite, plus taxes & gratuities. You can book your vacation now for travel through April 30, 2016. Terms & conditions apply. Blackout dates apply. Book your stay through reservaciones.vdpl@vgloreto.com. Please reference code FAMNOV15 to receive this special rate.

 

** All photos taken by James Tiffany Photography **

Written by atlasandmason

Email Me: George@atlasandmason.com

Leave a Reply

